Partners for Safe Teen Driving Program
The state of Virginia requires all 10th grade students and their parent/guardian to attend a 90-minute traffic safety program as part of the classroom driver education instruction. This requirement began in the 2010-2011 school year and must be met before a student will receive a Driver Education Certificate of Completion (DEC-1 card).
The dates for the program offered at Madison HS for the 2023-24 school year are as follows:
- October 3, 2023
- November 15, 2023
- January 31, 2024
- April 8, 2024
- May 7, 2024
There is no food or drink allowed in the Auditorium.
All programs will start at 7:00 p.m. and go until about 8:30 p.m. Doors open at 6:30 and close promptly at 7:00, so arrive early. If you are unable to attend any of these, or are not currently enrolled in HPE 10, then look at these additional program dates and locations found by searching online at ACE Continuing education.
Procedures to fulfill the requirements of the new law:
- Student must attend with their parent/guardian.
- Parent/guardian is required to show valid driver’s license or state issued identification number.
- Attendance for FULL 90 minutes is required.
- Proper completion of the registration form required (received at the session).
- Program must be completed during the year student is enrolled in Grade 10 HPE.
- No fees are charged to FCPS students currently enrolled in Grade 10 HPE.
Note: This is a requirement for current FCPS students to see with a parent before they can complete the Behind the Wheel training. You can go to it for free during the school year you are enrolled in Grade 10 HPE (either online or the standard Grade 10 HPE class). Most 11th/12th grade students went to this when they took Drivers Ed and do not need to go again. If an 11th/12th grade student has not attended this presentation, they should sign up in advance to expedite the processing of their payment. 9th graders that are turning 15½ soon should wait until they are enrolled in HPE 10 before attending a seminar.
Requirements for obtaining a driver’s license in Virginia:
- Apply for a learner's permit at a local DMV office once you are at least 15 years and 6 months old.
- Pass the sign, knowledge and vision tests at the DMV. Here is the link to the Driver's Ed manual for you to study.
- Complete a state-approved driver's education program. Steps 1 & 2 can be done before or after getting a permit (except for behind-the-wheel part which must be done after, or in conjunction with, the classroom part).
- 36 hours of classroom instruction
- Attend a 90 minute partners for safe teen driver class
- Obtain a Driver Education Certificate of Completion (DEC-1 card) after completing 14 hours of behind the wheel
- Log 45 hours of driving practice with a parent or guardian. 15 hours must be at night.
- Hold a learner's permit for at least nine months.
- Pass the driver road test (usually done in the behind-the wheel class near the end of the 9 months, but can be done earlier or later than that), which earns the driver a provisional license. If they have held their permit for 9 months, then they receive a paper copy; if not, they get it later.
- Receive a driver's license at the licensing ceremony.
To register by phone, please call 703-658-1201. Follow us on Twitter: @ACE_Driver_Ed
DMV Learner's Permit Test
Madison High School is pleased to announce that students can take the Virginia DMV learner’s permit test online this year. Students will be eligible to test if they are 15 years 6 months or older.
How to Register for a Test
- Register for your chosen test date through the DMV Testing Site AND
- Register for your chosen test date through the ACE Testing Site. You MUST register in both places.
- Email Mr. Massey at @email to let him know you've signed up. He will need your student ID number to make sure IT has the test site set up for you.
- September 14
- September 26
- October 5
- October 17
- November 2
- November 14
- November 28
- December 12
- January 9
All tests will take place in Room 6B, starting at 3:05 p.m. If you have had two unsuccessful attempts at passing this test, then you are required to test at the DMV for your third attempt.
Before taking the two-part knowledge test, please STUDY the Driver's Manual located on the DMV's website.